Faculty

The interdepartmental Council on Archaeological Studies supports faculty and Ph.D. research from three Yale divisions and seven departments: Social Sciences (Anthropology), Humanities (Classics and Classical Civilizations, History, History of Art, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, including Egyptology, and Religious Studies), and the Natural Sciences (Geology & Geophysics).

Anthropology
Richard Burger's picture Richard Burger
Chair and Director of Graduate Studies, Archaeological Studies; Charles J. MacCurdy Prof Anthropology; Curator Peabody Museum
51 HLH / O:102
richard.burger@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6517
Oswaldo Chinchilla Mazariegos's picture Oswaldo Chinchilla Mazariegos
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Archaeological Studies; Asst Prof Anthropology; Asst Curator Peabody Museum
51 HLH / O:301, 10 SACH / L:05
oswaldo.chinchilla@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-5923
Ellery Frahm's picture Ellery Frahm, Ph.D.
Director, Yale Initiative for the Study of Ancient Pyrotechnology. Faculty Research Scientist, Department of Anthropology
51 Hillhouse Avenue, room 303, New Haven, CT 06511
ellery.frahm@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6610
William Honeychurch's picture William Honeychurch
Associate Prof Anthropology
51 HLH / O:305
william.honeychurch@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3676
Roderick McIntosh's picture Roderick McIntosh
Prof Anthropology; Curator Peabody Museum
51 HLH / O:207 L:203
roderick.mcintosh@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6649
Lucy Salazar's picture Lucy Salazar
Research Associate, Machu Picchu Project
lucy.salazar@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9718
Eric Sargis's picture Eric Sargis
Prof Anthropology; Prof Ecology/Evolution & F&ES; Curator Peabody Museum
10 SACH / O:208
eric.sargis@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6140
Anne Underhill's picture Anne Underhill
Chair, Anthropology; Prof Anthropology; Curator Peabody Museum
51 HLH / O:208a L:201
anne.underhill@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3406
Classics
Milette Gaifman's picture Milette Gaifman
Assoc Prof & DUS HSAR; Prof CLAS
190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
milette.gaifman@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2687
Andrew Johnston's picture Andrew Johnston
Asst Prof Classics and History
344 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6629
andrew.johnston@yale.edu
Geology & Geophysics
H Catherine Skinner
Senior Research Scientist G&G
KGL 124, 210 Whitney
catherine.skinner@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3787
Ronald Smith
Damon Wells Prof G&G and Mechanical Eng (SEAS) & F&ES
KGL 112, 210 Whitney
ronald.smith@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3129
History
Joseph Manning
The William K. and Marilyn M. Simpson Professor of Classics and History. Senior Research Scholar, Yale Law School.
344 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-6629
joseph.manning@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0989
History of Art
Edward Cooke
Charles F. Montgomery Professor of American Decorative Arts; Chn History of Art; Prof American Studies; Dir Ctr for Study of American Art & Material Culture
190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
edward.cooke@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2724
Diana Kleiner's picture Diana Kleiner
Dunham Prof HSAR and CLAS, Founding Director, Open Yale Courses
190 York Street (Loria 554)
diana.kleiner@yale.edu
Mary Miller
Sterling Prof HSAR
1 Prospect
mary.miller@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2900
Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations
John Darnell's picture John Darnell
Prof Egyptology NELC; Prof RELST; Curator Peabody Museum
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
john.darnell@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2159
Karen Foster's picture Karen Foster
Lecturer NELC and HSAR
190 York
karen.foster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6715
Eckart Frahm's picture Eckart Frahm
Prof & Chair & DGS NELC
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
eckart.frahm@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5584
Harvey Weiss's picture Harvey Weiss
Prof NELC and ANTH and F&ES
205 Prospect St, New Haven, CT 06511-2106
harvey.weiss@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4080
Religious Studies
Stephen Davis's picture Stephen Davis
Prof & DUS RELST and HIST and NELC
451 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8906
stephen.davis@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1298
Yale University Art Gallery
David Sensabaugh's picture David Sensabaugh
Ruth and Bruce Dayton Curator of Asian Art
201 York, New Haven, CT 06511-8926
david.sensabaugh@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7266
Emeritus Professors
Michael Coe
CJ MacCurdy Prof Emeritus Anthropology
10 Sachem St, New Haven, CT 06511-3707
michael.coe@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3700
Robert Gordon
Sr Rsrch Scientist, Prof Emeritus Geophysics & Applied Mechanics
210 Whitney
robert.w.gordon@yale.edu
Phone: 203 432-3125
Frank Hole
CJ MacCurdy Prof Emeritus; Sr Rsrch Scientist Anthropology; Sr Rsrch Sci/Scholar Anthropology
10 SACH / O:302
frank.hole@yale.edu
Phone: 203 432-3683
William Simpson
Prof Emeritus Egyptology NELC & Lit Faculty Affiliate Peabody Museum
10 SACH / O:201
william.simpson@yale.edu
Phone: 203 432-3688